All sessions are for members only and are held at St Mark’s Lodge (2612 14A Street SW, Calgary, AB T2T 3X7).

Saturday workshops start at 10:30am (and typically run to 2:30-3:30pm).

Thursday meetings start at 7:00pm (and typically run to 9:00pm).

Spring 2017 Programming

Sat Jan 14
Writing Immersive Fiction
Ever wondered why some books are more successful than others? It has nothing to do with the quality of writing, or whether you have a high concept story or not. No, it simply depends on how immersive your story is on every page.
But what makes a story immersive?
There are elements of writing that pull readers inside the world of your story and keep them engrossed until the end, no matter the genre. And there are other elements that rudely push them out. Come learn the building blocks of immersive fiction, constructing your fictive dream brick by brick, using tools such as the Motivation-Reaction Unit, the use of all senses, and more.
SWATI CHAVDA

Thurs Jan 26
Wilderness Survival Tips for Writers
Do you have characters who cross dangerous lands in pursuit of their goal, and must learn to survive in all terrains with meagre resources? If so, you will not want to miss this session on wilderness survival tips. Come. Your protagonist’s life may depend on it.
G W RENSHAW

Sat Feb 11
Valentine’s Day Party
Truffle-making class by HOLLY; Photography by PAUL WHITE

Thurs Feb 23
Midpoint of the Story — The Mirror Moment
DIANA MARY

Sat March 11
Morning: Four types of readers who are not buying your books — and how to turn them into raving fans
Afternoon: How to get readers to join your Mailing List, and keep them satisfied after they join
DAVID SINGH

Thurs March 23
Blogging for Writers
VICTORIA SMITH

Sat April 8
How to Write Blurbs
JESSICA JACKSON

Thurs April 27
Writing Romance
LORRAINE PATON

Sat May 13
ARWA 30th anniversary party; writing contest

Thurs May 25
How to Write Humor
SWATI CHAVDA

Sat June 10
A Magical Creation/Dream Box
HOLLY

Thurs June 22
AGM